Mr Ephraim Singo.

Ephraim Singo to lead Thulfa


After years of boardroom and legal battles, the elections for the Thulamela Local Football Association were finally held during a meeting at the Thohoyandou Indoor Sports Centre last Saturday. Mr Ephraim Singo was unanimously elected the new chairperson of the association after beating Vhamusanda Vho-Khorommbi Nemavhola bya majority votes.

Messrs KT Tshitake, TP Nenngwekhulu and N Mudzielwana were elected to the positions of first, second and third deputy chairpersons respectively. A well-known businessman and teacher, Mr Cedrick Ramaliba, is the new treasurer for the association. The post of the general secretary is held by Mr Aubrey Ramukumba.

During the meeting, it was announced that the additional members would be nominated by the five zones, Tshilamba, Nzhelele, Dzindi, Phiriphiri and Thohoyandou.

When addressing the guests after his election to the association’s hot seat, Singo said that some of the things that were high on his priority list included the fight against corruption in refereeing and a sound financial administration.

According to him, they will establish different committees after receiving the names of the nominated additional members from the five zones. He also appealed to those who did not make it in the elections not to despair, saying the fact that they had not made it did not mean that the people hated them. “There is a winner in every race and the fact that some do not win does not mean that they are not good athletes” he said.

 He reiterated the fact that his committee would pay special attention to the revival of the youth development programmes. He also stated that their plan was to have the league activities for the new season kick off in two weeks’ time.  According to him, a total of 154 teams have already settled their affiliation fees and were eagerly waiting to start with the competition.  



To leave a comment you need to login / register first

Read: 484

Date:10 March 2018 - By: Frank Mavhungu

Frank Mavhungu

Frank is a Human Resources Manager at the Department of Public Works in Limpopo. He is the longest serving correspondent of the Mirror, having joined us at the end of 1990.  He mainly writes sports reports and resides at Tsianda Village. In 2004, Frank won the National Castle League Award, an award for the best reporter in the SAB league in South Africa.



You may also be interested in these:



Recent Articles

Popular Articles