Benny's Care players and officials with the winning trophy. Photo supplied.

Benny's crowned as Danone champions


Benny’s Care were crowned as the new Limpopo Danone U/12 champoins when they beat Kgagudi Primary 3-2 in the final match at Hoërskool Noorderland in Polokwane on Saturday.

Benny’s took the game to their opponents from the onset, giving the defenders of Kgagudi no time to breathe. It was no surprise to see Benny’s score their first goal in the 10th minute. Rudzani Mutsharini unleashed a half volley from the edge of the box and the keeper of Kgagudi, Gift Thobejane, watched helplessly as the ball landed at the back of the net.

Ethen Maake of Kgagudi should have equalised, but his shot was palmed away by Wilson Ramalata, the keeper of Benny’s. A defender of Benny’s handled the ball inside of his penalty area and the referee pointed to the white spot. Ralsroy Mohlala scored from the spot to bring the half-time score 1-1.

Benny’s midfielder, Vicent Rasimphi, dished a pre-cooked pass to Rudzani Mutsharini, who moved a few steps forward before unleashing a half volley to complete his brace. 

In the second half, Kgagudi abused countless scoring opportunities. They equalised through Kagiso Mphaka, however, who finished off a rebound, following Success Mmola’s initial attempt.

Frans Boloko of Benny’s then received a yellow card after he tackled Fedinant Sekiti from behind.

The goal that earned Benny’s a place in the national final came in the 78th minute when Dakalo Muladi scored the third goal of his team.



To leave a comment you need to login / register first

Read: 586

Date:09 June 2018 - By: Kaizer Nengovhela

Kaizer Nengovhela

Kaizer Nengovhela started writing stories for Limpopo Mirror more than a decade ago, in 2 000. Prior to that he had a five year stint at Phala-Phala FM as sports presenter. In 2005 Kaizer received an award from the province's premier as Best Sports Presenter. The same year he was also nominated as Best Sports Reporter by the Makhado Municipality. Kaizer was awarded the Mathatha Tsedu award in 2014.



You may also be interested in these:



Recent Articles