Mwape Musonda.

Musonda to receive the golden boot award


Black Leopards may have finished their league programme in the 13th position on the log, but their Zambian striker, Mwape Musonda, will receive the golden boot award during the Premier Soccer League’s prize-giving ceremony at the Durban’s International Convention Centre on Sunday evening.

The 27-year-old killer striker scored 16 of the 30 goals that the Thohoyandou side scored this season.

Musonda broke the record of the former Polokwane City striker, Rodney Ramagalela. Ramagalela, who will be in Highlands Park’s colours come next season, scored 11 goals for City last season.  Musonda was also the league’s top goal scorer when his side was campaigning in the National First Division last season.

The recipients of the other awards will be announced during the ceremony on Sunday. The nominees for the footballer of the season are Themba Zwane and Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates). The same players are nominees for the players’ player of the season award.

The coach of the season nominees are Benni McCarthy (Cape Town City), Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Milutin Sredojevic (Orlando Pirates). The players who are earmarked for the PSL’s young player of the season awards are: Gift Links (Cape Town City) Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United) and Bongani Sam (Bloemfontein Celtic).  

Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City), Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United) are the nominees for the goalkeeper of the season award. The best defender of the season will go to one of the following players: Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City) and Ricardo Nascimento (Mamelodi Sundowns).

The nominees for the midfielder of the season are: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates) and Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns). The MTN8 last man standing nominees are Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City) and Thabo Nodada (Cape Town City), and the nominees for the Nedbank Cup player of the tournament are Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy) and Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs).




Read: 902

Date:17 May 2019 - By: Frank Mavhungu

Frank Mavhungu

Frank is a Human Resources Manager at the Department of Public Works in Limpopo. He is the longest serving correspondent of the Mirror, having joined us at the end of 1990.  He mainly writes sports reports and resides at Tsianda Village. In 2004, Frank won the National Castle League Award, an award for the best reporter in the SAB league in South Africa.



You may also be interested in these:



Recent Articles

Popular Articles